Home > Football > Hello and welcome

Hello and welcome

This is the first of what I hope to be many many blogs over years to come about my thoughts and feelings on the world of football.

My name is Jamie Forrester. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamie_Forrester

I was fortunate enough to survive in professional football for nearly 18 years playing in all four divisions of English football along with two short spells abroad, with AJ Auxerre in France and FC Utrecht of Holland.

So why have I turned my hand to blogging…..??

Well, I guess that given my own personal experiences over the course of my career provide me with a knowledge that many football fans may feel like they could take on board. I have a few friends that are big football fans of different clubs who say that people may want to hear the views of somebody like myself.

There are people who’s opinion on football is tolerated, even well respected. In my opinion many of these ‘voices’ are respected without reason.

I watch Sky Sports to see that a table full of journalists from a selection of our nations newspapers discuss the recent hot football topics amongst eachother for an hour at a time.

To anybody who has been ‘inside’ the game for any length of time can notice that these writers clearly have a very limited knowledge of the way in which football works and runs itself.

So, I would say that I have an edge over these guys.

OK, I may not have the  degree and the intellectual writing vocabulary to back up by thoughts and opinions but I have all of the experience of the past 18 years in professional which to draw upon.

I would welcome any constructive comments and questions.

There will be many opportunities for me to air my thoughts as footbal has a healthy habit of throwing up talking points on a daily basis………….so please enjoy my experiences and thoughts on our beautiful game.

Categories: Football
  1. Ben Harrison
    October 6, 2010 at 9:57 am

    It was said that in the time of Beck and Keith at Lincoln City that it was more the “team spirit” the the teams “Football Ability” that won them games in the end, Which do you think is the more important? Plus loved you at Lincoln, have you thought about going for the Lincoln job yourself?

  2. Rich Coleman
    October 12, 2010 at 12:19 am

    Jamie
    Watched you in the FAYC v Man U up front with Noel Whelan. God I wished you’d both had more of a chance at ER especially when you see what happened to Fergie’s young uns. Were you not binned for Brolin…god he was dire! Glad you had a successful career at Scunny, Lincoln, Notts County but wished you’d made the grade at Leeds. Remember your two goals v Crewe in the Fa Cup. Good luck with your blogging. I read your first two entries re life in the youth set-up and got the impression you had some regrets, but I reckon there’s still time to get fixed up in a coaching role…how about a double act with Whelan!
    All the best for the future.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

